DMVisionaries Interview Part 4: Radio Personality, Lex Boogie

Hip-hop itself needs to be very lyrically aware of what they are saying… You had songs that people partied to, but it had a message.

GNDradioThat is the connection that the music has on society- to interpret perception through words. With that said, depending on the words being used, that’s going to be the trend in which society is going to go with. The day of having a “message” is a rare commodity. Dumbing lyrics down is the way to success, more or less giving the content little to no effort…and the people buy into it. Lyrical content is the most powerful expression that we as people need to have with each other. The greats did it with Jazz and Rock and Roll, Hip Hop music plays just as equal parts in the music affecting society as a whole.

 

 

DC, Maryland and Virginia’s own, online radio personality, Lex Boogie, has represented, and will continue to showcase underground Hip-Hop and R&B on her radio show, ‘Girl Next Door’ at Listen Vision. For those who aren’t familiar with Listen Vision, it is one of the number one studios in Washington, DC, and is located near Howard University.

 

Boogie gives advice and input on lyrical content, explains what she looks for in a musician, and her experience as a radio host, along with her love for Hip-Hop.

 

Her show airs every Tuesday from 5-6pm on www.listenvision.com. Submit your music to lexgirlnextdoor@gmail.com

 

 Who is Lex Boogie?

Lex Boogie is an online radio personality originally raised in the DMV, that has worked in the music and entertainment businesses for a long time.lex&Tigger

Where did the name come from?

It’s a hell of a story, but I have three fathers in hip-hop that have named me. Shamelessly not afraid to say, my brother, Black Boo (Mambo Sauce Band), was one of the first to call me that. So, I’m going to let him get the credit lol. The name came from a place in Hip-Hop that was flashy and aggressive, but memorable. Lex was something that everyone wanted. Either a car, a Lexus, or RoLex watch… It was catchy and everyone could remember it, and make different names… Lex Diamond, L Boogie, Boogie… I answer to it… and people love saying it.

What’s the funniest thing that ever happened at an event?

I’m not going to say any names, but at the end of an event I did, this person who finally got her chance to get the mic and say something. She goes ham on the stage and then falls off the stage… DMV we have a problem… lmao!

 

What advice would you give to up and coming Djs/Promoters?

DJ’s don’t give up. It’s going to be like it was back in the day when you were the “backbone” of the culture. But I also need the DJ’s to really be DJ’s. We have a lot of imitates and stunt men. Get your craft up and hold it down like they used too. Promoters, become more business and more creative when it comes to promoting these shows.

 

I miss the 90s music just like the next person, what would you say that you miss the most about it? 


The 90s was when I was a teenager. I loved everything about the music and what it represented…the self-awareness, the strength, the education, the rebellion, and militancy. I miss the party and how everyone used to dance and express themselves that was cool. I loved the dress and of course the music. It was considered the golden era of awareness of what was hip-hop. Some of my most memorable experiences happened in the 90’s.

 

What advice would you give an artist submitting their music to you?

Quality is my biggest thing. How it sounds, how it’s put together, and how it’s presented. A lot of artists have to understand that this is a product. Just like the “products” you see sitting attractive on a shelf or a table, the product makes it so that you want it. Just like your music, from inside out, that’s what artists have to do to the consumer or the audience… Is to hear it, inquire about it, pick it up, and buy it.

So how is the DMV scene in your eyes at the moment?

Infancy stages, we have a lot of work to do. But the good thing is, people are getting ready for the challenges that are coming with all of this activity that has irrupted in the DMV. We are learning how to function and function together. It’s hard to do that with an idea that was dormant for about 20 years in this area. So I wouldn’t turn my back on the DMV, but it’s very frustrating.

 

What do you think is missing in the music industry, and do you think some of the artists here in the DMV will fill in that gap?

Describe the importance of lyrical consciousness and how do you think the content of music can affect society as a whole?

Hip-hop itself needs to be very lyrically aware of what they are saying from the jump. You had songs that people partied to, but it had a message. That is the connection that the music has on society- to interpret perception through words. With that said, depending on the words being used, that’s going to be the trend in which society is going to go with. The day of having a “message”, is a rare commodity. Dumbing lyrics down is the way to success, more or less giving the content little to no effort…and the people buy into it. Lyrical content is the most powerful expression that we as people need to have with each other. The greats did it with Jazz and Rock and Roll, Hip Hop music plays just as equal parts in the music affecting society as a whole.

What has been the best moment so far at Listen Vision?

The best moment is the very first day of my broadcast on April 3rd 2012 and my interview with legendary rapper Chi Ali, which was the very first interview that he did since coming out of jail.


 Describe your first day and overall experience with working at Listen Vision?

Listen vision is an extension of Radio One. Not exactly, but the structure and the means in which are similar to the type of radio that I like doing. My experience has been wonderful. I’m learning so much, I’m meeting wonderful people, and they are helping me execute my dream. I’m grateful. Not to mention the perks for working as a radio personality; this is my dream.

 

Who’s currently throwing the best parties here in the DMV?

I’m not really plugged into the promoters like that anymore, but I do work with a couple. Big Ron and Cory from V.I.P life throw the sexiest parties in the DMV. Dominique Moxley is always a favorite, other than that I don’t know. I’m too much on my grind!

 


Where are the local spots that you’ve played/put parties on?

Just put it like this, ‘cause I’ve done too many shows to name. But as far as the span of shows I’ve done… I’ve rocked every underground stage in the DMV and up and down the east coast. DMV’s #1 hostess.

What was the first event you ever played at/put on?

Wow!! A very popular club in the 90’s called the Quiglies.

 

What’s the best event you’ve played at/put on?

When I was doing Top Mics DC at what is now the Koffe Lounge. It used to be called “G2”. I packed that joint, coordinated it, booked artists, dj, judges, and hosted… It was good feeling! Very tired, but I was good!

 


What was the first album that you’ve purchased?

I think it was Salt and Pepa or Kid and Play, one of those albums.. Lol.

 

Of all the music in your collection, which one never fails?

Notorious B.I.G- Life After Death

 

What’s you favorite song of all time?

How Can You Mend A Broken Heart by Al Green


When all the partying is over, what do you do in your spare time?

That’s the thing, I’m too ambitious, I don’t party like I used to when I was younger. I put that time in. Really, its about the dedication and passion I have to meet my goals in life and in this music. I feel like I paid my “party dues” and it’s time to get down to work. Now, if I’m not working, I’m spending time with my daughter. I’m a full time mother as well, so I have to hold the fort down. I like to cook and cater events. I love to sleep!

 

How big is your music collection?

I got, vinyls, tapes, cds, and MP3 downloads, I got it!

 

How long have you worked at the studio?

I’ve been there going on 9th month… Time is going by so fast!

What time can listeners tune in to your radio show on Listen Vision and where else can people find you?

Each and every Tuesday LIVE@5pm to 6pm on www.listenvison.com

#GNDRadio. Follow me on twitter @lexgirlnextdoor on instagram @gndradio, and I’m on Fb as Lex Boogie.

Submit your music to lexgirlnextdoor@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

