Owner of Symplx Studios, Adebayo Dawodu

symplxstudio

I recently had the pleasure to interview multi-artist, Adebayo Dawodu, who is a multi-faceted entrepreneur providing services in photography, graphic design, brand management, digital cinematography to name a few.


A.
   Perception is reality and image is important especially whensummerromance

Q.     What do you see as the role of the visual arts in our mass-mediated world and particularly in your profession?

catering to the masses. Long gone are the days where people are content with long paragraphs as a way of receiving information. Thanks to technological advancement, visual art has really enhanced communication efforts. Whether you are watching TV, or online reading blogs or even at the bus stop waiting for a ride, you are constantly surrounded by visual art and sometimes it could be overwhelming with the influence of marketers pushing ads to consumers. Overall, communication is becoming more effective with visual art; just log onto pinterest.com or instagram and it will all make sense.

As a brand developer and creative director, I’ve been privileged to partake in the ongoing trendsetting for visual art. Most clients come to me with just a need and my job is to translate their needs into effective solutions. Visual art in various disciplines allows me to accomplish this task of creating effective solution through graphic design, motion/cinematography, web design and/or any of the combinations.

Check out his latest excerpt, ‘Irony of Hate’ from his upcoming poetry book entitled, ‘Pronouns’:

Q.     With new communications and media technologies, imagery is almost instantly available. Do you believe that this is having a positive or negative influence on the industry (provide example)?

A.     Capitalism is centered on supply and demand and in this era, instant information is at a high demand. This reality is evident in the success of companies such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and others like them. It’s amazing how ten thousand (10,000) likes on a Facebook picture can equate to tangible advertising dollars for both individuals and companies. A YouTube user with over a million views on any of their content can become an instant celebrity overnight and open up a cash flow business. With success come backlashes. Manipulated imagery instantly made available online can have devastating effects on an individual or companies alike. There are always pros and cons when it comes to technology and human interaction, but we should not be too focused on that, rather we should make sure that our objectives are clear and that we are using the available technologies effectively to promote our best interest.

decorations

Q.     What popular images do you see that are frequently rechanneled throughout the entertainment industry?

A.     Sex sells! Although we hate the idea of such reality, it’s hard to deny the truth about it. I can’t say one image is more prominent than the other in the industry but I can affirm that anything that can be wrapped around sex often gets rechanneled throughout the industry and it spreads like wild fire.

Q.     Are there particular images that this industry has popularized, and or created?

A.     In my field, it’s hard to stick to certain images because the demands change based on the people I am serving. Styles are what get recycled in my industry not specific images.

Q.     Who is one of your favorite visual artist/s, and or what is your favorite style of visual art?

A.     I was introduced to the visual art world later than most so I wasn’t too familiar with the likes of Picasso or Vincent Van Gogh until my later years. I have since gained an appreciation for works of such talents. My favorite artist thus far is a local painter/artist name Michael Godfrey, I’ve had the pleasure of following his work for a few years now and I love his style of subtle detail and replication of nature’s splendor in his painting. Aside from him, I am always moved when I encounter other artists both locally and internationally. I love art and I live for it so my favorite might just be a quest that might remain undetermined for a while.

Q.     How has your knowledge of famous artworks influenced your creative process?

A.     When I was studying graphic communication many years ago, I learned about the history of art and the influence of famous and past artists, but I found that I am more in tune with artworks created by people I’ve personally met. It just seems more relevant. Knowledge of other famous artwork only allows me to appreciate new art more, and see how history always repeats itself. My creative process is influenced by many things but it always goes back to Mr. Lipiano, my mentor’s principle that simply encourages simplicity in designs. I learned from him that everything in complex art, or design starts with a simple idea or element. Art is always evolving and I am glad to be a part of the evolution both in appreciation and participation.

pronouns

Feel free to support the funding this project at:

http://www.gofundme.com/pronouns

 

One thought on “Owner of Symplx Studios, Adebayo Dawodu

  1. Pingback: Owner of Symplx Studios, Adebayo Dawodu | SYMPLX STUDIO

Leave a Reply

